What Do I Want To Do? 

I went for a casual dinner with a teacher I really respect, and halfway through, she asked me: 

So what do you want to do? 

There was a long pause. I started sipping my diluted iced lemon tea and then stirring and sipping again. My lips parted to say something but no words came. That shocked me to a certain degree, considering that I pride myself for knowing what I want in life. In my life, at least, no matter big or small. 

But I had absolutely nothing to say. 

I wanted to respond with: 

I want to do what I want to do. 

But what is it that I really want? 

Leave a Reply

