Turning 21. 

Dawn at 21. See the difference? I don’t.

“The year you were born marks only your entry into the world. Other years where you prove your worth, they are the ones worth celebrating.” – Jarod Kintz, This Book Title is Invisible.

Today, I turn 21. 

It is strange how you always dream of its arrival and when it is finally here, it actually feels a bit underwhelming. 

I really have no idea what I was expecting. 

A whole bunch of surprises? Growing two-inches taller? Striking the sweepstakes and never having to worry about money ever again? Everything I dislike about my body to suddenly transform? Become a mermaid? Gaining to ability to converse with animals? 

I feel the same, but also slightly different. Or maybe this is just all in the mind. 

Perhaps this just takes a while to sink in. 

Well, I will keep hoping that all my thoughts and feelings come and go, my six senses will bring me into more worlds and that I keep the spark inside of me alive. 

Fingers crossed. 

A part of me never expected myself to survive so long, so here’s a big thank you to everyone that took care of me, loved me, laughed at and with me over the past 21 years. 

(Sometimes I think birthdays are to celebrate the presence and the gifts that everyone has showered upon you rather than your own person. Because honestly, I would be lying in a coffin right now or is a breathing zombie now without all these magical beings. Birthdays are about the kindness, the love, the emotions, the stories and the luck that everyone has shared with you. Really.) 

And to those that are still around? 

Know that I love you with all that my feisty heart can give. I hope you will stay with this foolish girl until time is finally up and she returns to her Wonderland to reunite with the Cheshire Cat. xx

– 

I have so many words to spill and form and bite, but I will whisper them to the trees, let them grow and find their way home in this universe. 

One thought on “Turning 21. 

  1. Happy Birthday! This is a really nice picture of you. 🙂

    When I turned 21 last year, I remember feeling disappointed that I didn’t magically gain all the knowledge and answers that I’d perceived all adults to have when I was a child. XD

Leave a Reply

