Guardians of The Galaxy (2014).

GOTG_Payoff_1-Sht_v4b_LgYes, I managed to catch Guardians of The Galaxy (finally) and I am glad to say that I really loved it! I am happy to say that it is one of the more enjoyable movies I caught this year.

Personally, this is THE action blockbuster of the year out of the three I have watched. X-men: Days of Future Past and Transformers: Age of Extinction can move aside.

From Marvel, Guardians of The Galaxy is about how five of the most unlikely companions found themselves trying to put aside their personal gains and wants to save the galaxy from Ronan, the villain that wants to cleanse the earth of other existing species and basically increase his power.

A space adventure about friendship, life and acceptance with pretty awesome costumes and music.

Seriously, what more can I ask for?

I loved the costumes. They seemed simple in terms of the colour scheme and everything was pretty uniform. However, the use of textures to keep the difference in personalities of the characters were interesting and I appreciated the detailing.

Together with the make-up and the physical characterisations of all the characters, everything was very aesthetically pleasing and visually stimulating. Awesome.

And for the music, it was great. The idea of music holding memories and associating it with a specific object made everything neat and tidy in terms of sound. And using it in establishing Star Lord’s character at the beginning with crazy lip synching while embarking on a mission? Pretty brilliant, if you ask me. It was funny, a joy to watch and engaging for the audience.

For this movie, most of the characters had a clear objective and hints of their backgrounds that justify their motivations, which was nice. No useless characters that I noticed.

My favourite character is definitely Groot. No doubt about it. He is such a friendly giant (if you do not cross him or any of his friends) and he is such a darling. For me, he surprised me the most with the things he can do and the way he reacts to his situations. Even though he essentially only knows four words and repeats them throughout the movie in different tones and laced with different intentions, he was never boring to watch or listen to and I always look forward to what he will do next. And being a tree, it was interesting for me to watch how the gifts of nature are being turned into super powers and how these gifts can save lives in a movie of explosives, space jets and aliens.

So all in all, I had a really good time watching this in the cinema and I really enjoyed my time. Thank you so much to the team for bringing this to the big screens!

Now here’s to hoping that the sequel will be even better than this! Whoo!

One thought on “Guardians of The Galaxy (2014).

Leave a Reply

