The Fault In Our Stars (2014) .

MV5BMjA4NzkxNzc5Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzQ3OTMxMTE@._V1_SX640_SY720_If you are planning to catch this long-awaited movie, please do yourself a favour and remember to bring packets of tissue because you are definitely going to need it. For me, I cry easily when I am able to immerse myself entirely into the story-telling and start feeling for the characters so I was really glad I brought tissue for myself. Hahaha.

If you are the kind of person that does not cry easily and are able to walk out of the cinema from this movie looking glamourous without tear stained cheeks, good for you.

This movie, as many people would know, is based off John Green’s popular book and revolves around the lives of two star-crossed lovers that have a touch of cancer. It is a love story that is not made to please but is a beautiful telling of reality and what can happen.

Firstly, I truly appreciate the casting. They are not extremely high profile or good-looking or typecast into any specific roles in many movies, and I liked that. It made the story easier to believe and look beyond the superficial things that the screen usually captures.

And I would just like to say that Augustus Waters (played by Ansel Elgort) was charming and endearing throughout. There was growth in his character and he is just a darling. There was strength and vulnerability. His little quirks, habits or gestures brought him to life and the subtleties made him a very beautiful character.

Secondly, there is just this thing about the lighting that I liked. I cannot really put my finger on it but it created a certain kind of ambiance for many of the scenes. Very warm and safe. I know that what I am trying to say is super vague and useless but I am just trying to say that I felt the lighting was really important and nice. Yes.

Lastly, the writing by Green was already good enough. But the visuals from the movie captured the essence of it, gave life to the words and brought out why the book was worth being made into a movie. With humour, the beauty of being a teenager, risk-taking and disappointments, it was a wonderful experience to just immerse yourself into the movie and look out for the facial expressions and listen to the words.

Because that is what is important.

I am so glad I managed to catch this movie’s premiere so thank you so much to Golden Village for the opportunity. I felt and learnt so much last Wednesday night from this beautiful movie. I can keep watching it and probably discover different things from it each time. Lovely.

One thought on “The Fault In Our Stars (2014) .

Leave a Reply

