Edge of Tomorrow (2014).

edge-of-tomorrow-poster3Thank goodness it was relatively alright and was not a shitty movie. Thank goodness, alright.

I am so tired of watching disappointing movies week after week recently. Movies that have most of their exciting bits in only the trailer, predictable story lines or weird loop holes here and there and miss out certain details.

Hopefully Maleficent and The Fault in Our Stars will not fall into any of the above. I will be really sad.

Anyway, Edge of Tomorrow is about war with an alien species that plans to wipe out humanity. Accidentally being thrown into a time loop, Major William Cage (played by Tom Cruise) have to keep living, fighting and dying to try and win this war, together with Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (played by Emily Blunt).

As a whole, I felt that the movie is worth watching.

With occasional witty dialogue and a cleverly-crafted story, I was engaged throughout and it kept me thinking. It is the kind of movie that you have to watch the visuals carefully and listen to the words and what they are getting at because everything is very subtle and detailed.

The way director Doug Liman handled the angles and the layering of the various moments were nice as well, because he ensured that no repetition made you discover the same thing. There is always a new element added into the repeated scenarios, be it Cage’s self-discovery, emotions or choices made by him and others.

Or how they carefully weaved tidbits of certain characters into the story to paint a general picture of their lives and their back stories to remind us that everyone has something they want to protect and cherish.

And time loop was wrapped up really nicely at the end. Pretty much no loose ends. A clean finish.

I would also like to say that the aliens were pretty impressive. Manipulative, fast and really advanced. They were not dumb droids, which was great and the fights were nice to watch. It was actually quite exciting and I paid attention since I was unable to predict their fast moves and comebacks. A clever enemy with very slick looks. I liked them very much.

But beyond the fun and the excitement, Edge of Tomorrow left me questions that I might never be able to answer in this lifetime but will think about from time to time. And I definitely appreciate them.

For me, there were quiet moments that made me feel sad.

How he can choose to not save a man because he realises that death will befall everyone anyway. Does the effort no longer count? The fact that you tried?

Or how Cage will always be the only carrying the weight of the events with him wherever he goes while everyone has the privilege to begin afresh. Is it better to know or not know at all?

Hmm.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Edge of Tomorrow (2014).

  1. Pingback: The Maze Runner (2014). | Corner of My Mind.

  2. Hello! This post could not be written any
    better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.

    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

